Becky’s eagle gives her Welsh Open title

THE 32-strong line-up for the Welsh Ladies Team Championship is close to completion.

Neath, Carmarthen and Ashburnham have booked their places alongside the host club and holders Newport.

One club that won’t be represented is Gower after they lost 3-2 to Tenby in Group B qualifying. But Clyne beat Borth Ynyslas by the same scoreline and Neath eased past Machynys Peninsula 3.5-1.5. Ashburnham got the better of Builth Wells 3-2 and Carmarthen had no problems seeing off Pennard 4-1. In Group C, Southerndown overcame St Mellons by the same margin although Pyle Kenfig lost 3-2 to Llanwern. Royal Porthcawl received a bye.

Neath are straight through to the final of the men’s Welsh Team Championship at Newport in August, having beaten this year’s hosts in the 2011 final. Swansea Bay could join them after they started their campaign with a 3-2 victory against Morriston.

Clubs already in the second stage are Fairwood Park, who meet Haverfordwest, Glynneath and Pontardawe, who meet at Morriston, and Gower and Lakeside, who meet at Clyne.

The Ping Mixed Foursomes has also started but, for Pontardawe, it was over almost as soon as it had begun, with a 2-1 defeat to Cottrell Park. Clyne gained a 2-1 triumph over Langland Bay, while Southerndown are safely through to round two following a 3-0 win against Brynhill. They play either Neath or Glynneath next.

An eagle on the penultimate hole gave Becky Harries the Welsh Open Strokeplay title and a historic double.

A three on the par-five 17th at Ashburnham, coupled with a bogey for Chloe Williams, proved the pivotal moment at the end of the event.


Victory for Harries made her the first golfer since Vicki Thomas in 1982 to hold both the Welsh Matchplay and Open Strokeplay crowns at the same time.

Pennard’s James Frazer couldn’t build on a promising start at the Lytham Trophy to finish in a tie for 11th place.

In the end, no-one was able to stay with runaway winner, Dutchman Daniel Huizing, whose victory at Royal Lytham St Annes came by 11 shots.

Frazer put himself into contention after 36 holes with rounds of 72 and 70. However, scores of 74 and 73 gave him a nine-over-par total of 289.

Pontardawe’s Fauve Birch is one of 16 women chosen to represent Glamorgan Ladies in 2012.

More than 100 players entered the Hall of Fame Charity qualifier at Swansea Bay and it was Lance Heycock who emerged victorious with 38 stableford points, one ahead of Gareth Jenkins and Cerith Davies. Heycock represents the Bay at the regional event at Maesteg in August.

The Sunday Stableford was won by Jon Wootton with an excellent 39 points. Jean Barratt claimed the Gwen Phillips Salver at Carmarthen with a net 70 while at Langland Bay, Carol Smith qualified for the Rhian Pearn Rose Bowl at Neath in August thanks to a net 69. Deborah Howard also went through.

Two points separated the top three in the May Stableford at Lakeside, Gary Tamlyn (36) beating Lee Trickey and Brian Channell to first prize. Nigel Howell and DJ Williams teamed up to take the 4BBB Mal’s Classic with a net round of 56.

Michael Choi and Giles Feltham needed 40 points at Pennard to win the President’s Putter from Michael and Lynne Taylor, while Alex Jones was the overall victor in the Welsh Individual Handicap Championship qualifier.

It was a tight finish as one shot separated the first three players home. Jones hit a net 68 with Frank Slater squeezing past Christopher Cash for second on countback.

Darren Vincent’s 37 points, one better than Steve Maddock and Robert Guard, gave him the Blue Tee Stableford.

CARMARTHEN : Gwen Phillips Salver: 1. J. Barratt net 70, 2. C. Fleetwood 73, 3. J. Thomas 73.

LAKESIDE : 4BBB Mal’s Classic: 1. N. Howell DJ Williams net 56, 2. P. Jenkins J. Thomas 57, 3. T. Davies D. Dickinson 57.

May Stableford: 1. G. Tamlyn 36pts, 2. L. Trickey 35, 3. B. Channell 34.

LANGLAND BAY : 4BBB: 1. R. Pothecary J. Davies 42pts, 2. A. Kamil B. Owen 42, 3. G. Lillicrap P. Mayhew 42.

Ladies’ Rhian Pearn Cup; 1. C. Smith net 69, 2. D. Howard 64.

PENNARD : President’s Putter 4BBB: 1. M. Choi G. Feltham 40, 2. M. Taylor L. Taylor 39, 3. A. Jones K. Viney 39.

Welsh Individual Handicap Championship Qualifier: 1. A. Jones net 68, 2. F. Slater 69, 3. C. Cash 69. Best of the rest; (div 1) 1. L. Dickinson 70, (div 2) 1. M. Rees 75, (div 3) 1. A. John 72.

Blue Tee Stableford: 1. D. Vincent 37, 2. S. Maddock 36, 3. R. Guard 36. Best of the rest; (div 1) 1. C. Dale 35, (div 2) 1. N. Thomas 31, (div 3) 1. S. Gould 33.

SWANSEA BAY : Hall Of Fame Qualifier: 1. L. Heycock 38, 2. G. Jenkins 37, 3. C. Davies 37.

Sunday Stableford: 1. J. Wootton 39pts, 2. L. Parker 39, 3. G. Edwards 38.

Article source: