Flower masters conditions as late push seals title triumph

IAN Flower overcame tough conditions to lift the Glamorgan Golfing Union County Men’s Championship at Royal Porthcawl.

Despite strong winds, county captain Flower came from off the pace to win the title by four shots.

The Mountain Ash man opened up with a 77 in the morning, but followed it up with a superb 72 in the second round for a two-round 149.

Pennard’s James Frazer produced a fine 73 in the first round, but hit 80 in the second to finish second. Brent O’Neill took third place.

Neath were second in the team event behind Radyr.

Amazingly, there were two holes in one on the fourth hole, both fired in by Neath players. Matthew Arbourne achieved the feat in the morning, with David Davies repeating the trick in the afternoon.

Olchfa schoolboy Jordon Golley won his first men’s back tee major at Clyne Golf Club on Sunday with a gross 74, net 68.

The 14-year-old, who is already a regular in Clyne’s senior first team, took the Potter’s Pot by a shot from Andrew Lewis, whose 72 (net) 69 saw him pip upcoming junior Gareth Morgan to second place on countback.

Golley recovered from dropping four shots in his first three holes to play the rest of his round in two under par in very blustery and testing conditions.

Morriston Golf Club’s Strokeplay Championship, a 36-hole event, was won in impressive fashion by James White with rounds of 72 and 71.

The 20-year-old, who plays off a handicap of two, was winning the title for the second time.

David W Rees came out on top in a field of 124 in Captain’s Prize Day at Pennard.

He finished with a total of 43 points to end up five clear of Tom Radcliffe in second. Lee Dickinson took third spot ahead of Mark Radcliffe and Callum Dale courtesy of a better back nine.

Jennifer Crooks lifted the Janet Nash Cup, edging out Gill Higgins, while Moira Thomas won an 18-hole stableford from Sarah Taylor.

At Fairwood, Richard Coombes produced a fine display to win the Captain’s Day Stableford. He came out on top with 41 points, narrowly seeing off the challenges of both Anthony Hayward and Bob Hesketh.

And Wyn Rees was the winner of the Sunday Stableford with 38 points.

CLYNE : Potter’s Pot: 1. Jordon Golley 74 net (68), 2. Andrew Lewis 72 net (69), 3. Gareth Morgan 77 net (69).

FAIRWOOD : Captain’s Day Stableford: 1. Richard Coombes 41 points, 2. Anthony Hayward 40, 3. Bob Hesketh 40.

Sunday Stableford: 1. Wyn Rees 38, 2. Rod Morgan 36, 3. John Simon 35.

PENNARD : Captain’s Prize Day: 1. David W Rees 43, 2. Tom Radcliffe 38, 3. Lee Dickinson 37.

Nearest the pin: Hole 2 — Tom Radcliffe, Julia Davies.

Hole 5 — Alan G Williams.

Hole 11 — Nicky Thomas.

Hole 13 — Andrew S Jones.

Hole 15 — Hazel Lloyd.

Longest drive – Julia Davies, Nick Jones.

Captain’s Guests: 1. Peter Mottram 34, 2. Keith Gwynn 34, 3. Billy Wade 33.

Team: Geoff Burch, Roger Essex Peter Mottram 93.

Janet Nash Cup: 1. Jennifer Crooks 67, 2. Gill Higgins 67.

18-hole Stableford: 1. Moira Thomas 35, 2. Sarah Taylor 32.

SWANSEA BAY : Club Stableford: 1. J Bevan 38, 2. A Collins 37, 3. G Moule 37.

Millennium Cup Medal: 1. S Rees 91-19=72, 2. B Dobbin 86-11=75, 3. M Ford 79-4=75.

Article source: http://www.thisissouthwales.co.uk/Flower-masters-conditions-late-push-seals-title/story-16468449-detail/story.html